Say ” I Love You” : Anime Review

This is an anime where I judged it based on its cover. When I saw pictures of the anime I always thought that the main male character (Yamato) had a weird hairstyle and i didn’t find him really attractive. Also, since the title was ” Say ” I Love You” “, I guess in the back of my head I thought it was going to be cheesy and cliche. Every time I would watch top 10 romance animes this anime would appear, but I still didn’t give it a chance. Untill I was on hulu and just for some reason something told me that I should watch it so I did. i think I was hooked after the first three episodes because I binged all thirteen episodes in one day. I honestly like all the characters and I feel like they are all fairly needed.

Mei Tachibana

This girl really did a 180 throughout the anime, but I like that I feel like she isn’t a totally different person. In the begining she just didn’t socialize with people until she met the love of her life. I like how she gets more girly later on in the series and how her hair progressively grows too. I find it knew that she wasn’t a character who changed and started to help change other people directly.

Yamato Kurosawa

At first I thought this guy was a hoe because in the begining of the series they were saying that he kissed almost every girl beside one in the their school. Also, he kissed Mei so soon. I understand that it was to get rid of the stalker, but there were better ways of doing that. Additionally, he was trying to get to know her so bad and have her actually like him and that is just not a good way of doing that, but I guess it’s okay since it’s a romance anime. I guess for me it kind of turns me off a little when the first kiss is so soon, but it wasn’t so strong that it would make me rage quiet or anything. I also thought that he wanted to get Mei’s attention and once he did, he would get rid of her. I know I had a bad first impression of him, but you cant blame me.

  • His first interaction with her was getting kicked down the stairs
  • She didn’t do anything to make him like her
  • She didn’t even know who she was and all his friends called her weird

I ended up really liking Yamato though. He really loves her and he is willing to take it slow with her. my favorite episode with was when he stayed home sick and he was freaking out if his friend was going on a date with Mei.

Asami Okiawa

At first I thought that she was another one of the girls who was in love with Yamato, but I was wrong. I honestly love her because of how cute she is. Sadly, there not much that I can say because there wasn’t much focus on her throughout the series, but I’m happy that she got together with Kenji Nakanishi.

Aiko Muto

This girl is a bitch, but a good bitch. LOL. Like when she started to get backstory in the show, it shocked me of how much to real life reality this was. This girl did everything so she could please her boyfriend and he still ended up cheating on her. forgot if she lost weight for her boyfriend at the time or Yamato, but those scars on her lower stomach got me shook. I liked how technically it wasn’t that she wanted Yamato, but she wanted Mei to not half ass want him when so many girl try so hard to be with him. Ever since then, she been a great friend to her and Asami.

Kai Takemura

When this guy came in the show, I already liked him. I liked how he admitted that he like Mei, but he said it to be honest and not persue her. Most anime make it a really big deal, but Kai respects that they were in a relationship. Even though the anime isn’t complete with the manga, I can see that they are hinting at Kai and Megumi to eventually to be together. I don’t really know how I feel about that to be honest, I low-key prefer if he went to Megumi’s best friend to give her some characterization, but since I didn’t read the manga I don’t know anything about that. I like how he also helps Mei in some of her situation where she feels helpless and lonely like when the talked on the slide at the park.

Kenji Nakanishi

There really isn’t much to say about him, but I am happy that he confessed his feelings towards Asami and got with her early in the series

Megumi Kitagawa

She decisived me. At first I I respected her because she was straight forward with her confession. Then I liked how she apologized for being persistent when Yamato was in a serious relationship. I thought that the photoshoot thing was more of a misunderstanding from Mei, but she really did it on purpose because she got so angry when Yamato quit modeling. Then this girl been a snake throughout this whole series I’m like why. I’m here trying to like you so why are you doing this. Towards the end of the series, I thought this girl was going to commit suicide to be honest, but she just went into depression. I really like how it wasn’t Yamato or Mei who helped her out of that depression stage. It’s more realistic that way because sometimes people neglect their best friend who were always there for them, but when they are alone they realize who was there all along.

This show is a beautiful romance anime. I am really happy that I watched it. It felt like it had basic romance anime elements, but twisted them in a different way that make this show feel like a breathe of fresh air in some kind of way. Also, there isn’t much anime that deals with problems within a relationship. So if you looking for an anime that don’t make you wait the whole series for the characters together, watch Say “I Love You”

Hoped You Enjoyed 😀

Leave a comment